Skip Navigation Bar
NIH MedlinePlus the Magazine, Trusted Health Information from the National Institutes of Health

Friends of the National Library of Medicine 2014 Awards Gala Event

Capitol Building, Washington, DC

Capitol Building
Photos courtesy of Michael Spencer, NIH

2014 Awards Gala Event!

On September 9, the Friends held its annual Awards Gala to celebrate advances in public health, medicine, and health communications, as well as the individuals and organizations dedicated to these causes. The 2014 Gala brought together representatives from the public, professional, and business sectors in health care to show their support for the Library.

Glen P. Campbell, Chairman
Friends of the National Library of Medicine

Dr. Piotr Grodzinski and Dr. Chad A. Mirkin

Dr. Piotr Grodzinski (left), Director of the NCI Alliance for Nanotechnology in Cancer at the National Cancer Institute, presented the Distinguished Medical Science Award to Chad A. Mirkin, PhD, the George B. Rathmann Professor of Chemistry at Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences at Northwestern University.

Dr. Donald A.B. Lindberg

Donald A.B. Lindberg, MD, Director of the National Library of Medicine (NLM), welcomed those attending this year's awards dinner.

Barbara Redman and Virginia K. Saba

FNLM Board President, Barbara Redman, PhD, RN, (left) presented the first Nursing Informatics Award to Virginia K. Saba, EdD, RN, FAAN, FACMI.

Patricia Bradley and Lucretia McClure

FNLM Board member Lucretia McClure (right) presented the Michael E. DeBakey Library Services Outreach Award to Patricia Bradley, MLS, of the Native and Distance Services Library, Health Sciences Library & Informatics Center, at the University of New Mexico.

Amy Robach

Good Morning America news anchor Amy Robach, who could not attend the Gala, sent a special thank you video for receiving the Distinguished Health Communications Award. (An image from the video.)

Peter Reinecke

Peter Reinecke, former chief of staff for Sen. Tom Harkin and a strategic advisor to the magazine, read a letter of thanks from Sen. Barbara Mikulski of Maryland, recipient of the Paul G. Rogers Award for Public Service.

Fall 2014 Issue: Volume 9 Number 3 Page Inside Front Cover