Skip Navigation Bar
NIH MedlinePlus the Magazine, Trusted Health Information from the National Institutes of Health

Friends of the National Library of Medicine 2013 Awards Gala Event

Capitol Building, Washington, DC

Capitol Building
Photos courtesy of Michael Spencer, NIH

2013 Awards Gala Event!

On September 10, the Friends held its annual Awards Gala to celebrate advances in public health, medicine, and health communications, as well as the individuals and organizations dedicated to these causes. The 2013 Gala brought together representatives from the public, professional, and business sectors in health care to show their support for the Library.

Glen P. Campbell, Chairman
Friends of the National Library of Medicine

Dr. Donald A.B. Lindberg, Jack Andraka, Dr. Roger I. Glass

With NLM Director Dr. Donald A.B. Lindberg, M.D. (left), and Fogarty International Center Director Dr. Roger I. Glass, M.D., Ph.D. (right), was Jack Andraka, 16 (middle), who recently won the 2012 Gordon E. Moore Award, grand prize of the Intel International Science and Engineering Fair. Andraka developed a quick and inexpensive method to identify pancreatic, ovarian, and lung cancer during their early stages.

Dr. Joseph Perpich, Chris Van Hollen

The Honorable Chris Van Hollen (right), U.S. Congressman from Maryland's 8th District, received the Paul G. Rogers Award for Public Service from FNLM Vice President Dr. Joseph Perpich, M.D., J.D.

Dr. Anthony S. Fauci, Dr. Raymond F. Schinazi

Dr. Raymond F. Schinazi, Ph.D., Sc.D. (right), the Frances Winship Walters Professor of Pediatrics at the Emory University School of Medicine VA Medical Center, received the Distinguished Medical Science Award for his many contributions to the development of effective HIV/AIDS medications. Presenting the award was Dr. Anthony S. Fauci, M.D., Director of the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases.

Barbara Redman, Lucretia McClure, Dr. Richard Wallace

Dr. Richard Wallace, M.S.L.S., Ed.D., Professor and Assistant Director of Quillen College of Medicine Library at East Tennessee State University, received the Michael E. DeBakey Library Services Outreach Award from FNLM President Dr. Barbara Redman, Ph.D. (left), and FNLM Board member Lucretia McClure, M.A.

Dr. Sanjay Gupta

On assignment at the Lebanese-Syrian border, Dr. Sanjay Gupta, M.D., sent a video thank-you to the Friends for giving him the 2013 Distinguished Health Communications Award for his outstanding contributions to the health of the nation by his excellence in medical, biomedical, and health communications. A practicing American neurosurgeon and CNN's Emmy-award winning Chief Medical Correspondent, Dr. Gupta was unable to attend the Gala due to his scheduling conflicts.

Fall 2013 Issue: Volume 8 Number 3 Page Inside Front Cover